APEC” was established to promote economic cooperation in the Pacific Rim region. Since its establishment, the number of participating countries and regions (economy) has been increasing and has shown a wide variety. In this article, we will explain the outline of the member countries and the background of establishment, the participation of Taiwan, the summit held in Japan, and the “APEC Business Travel Card” etc. in an easy-to-understand manner. We introduce apec card info, please see it.

What is APEC? Briefing the outline of member states etc.

The official name is called “Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation”. The abbreviation that took the initial “APEC”. As its name suggests, it was launched in 1989 as a framework for promoting economic development and regional cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region.

The Permanent Office is set up in Singapore, and once a year the Summit is held, as well as Ministerial Meetings held by Foreign Ministers and Economic Ministers. By the way, the location of the Summit was selected from the participating countries and regions, and the Summit was held in Japan in 1995 and 2010.

APEC does not use the word “country” when referring to participating countries or regions, and is called “economy.” Funding for all activities is borne by all economies. According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website, the budget for 2015 is the US $ 5 million, and Japan contributes to the US $ 901,000, or about 18% of them. It is said that it is a contribution economy.

At the time of its establishment in 1989, there were 12 participating countries. The economy has been steadily increasing since then, and as of 2018, 21 countries and regions are participating.

  • America
  • Indonesia
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • China
  • Chile
  • Japan
  • new Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Brunei
  • Vietnam
  • Peru
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Russian Federation (in alphabetical order)

As you can see in the participating economies, APEC boasts the world’s largest “regionalism” framework, with members added to ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) and NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement). You

About 60% of the world’s GDP, about 50% of the world’s trade, and about 40% of the world’s population across APEC. As a result, it has become more important, and in recent years it has become a forum for dealing with various themes such as security and environmental issues in addition to economic cooperation.

In fact, APEC is not an official body with legal binding power, but is regarded as an “informal forum.” The reason is that Hong Kong, which is a special administrative district of China, and Taiwan, which has not been approved as a nation by many countries, are participating.

In 1991, China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan were added as new economies. However, since the People’s Republic of China was founded in 1949, the People’s Republic of China and Taiwan have been in conflict over the “two China” issue over which is the legitimate Chinese government.

APEC has set out a policy to eliminate political colors as much as possible in order to involve the People’s Republic of China and Taiwan, which have politically sensitive issues.

For example, the national flag and the anthem are not used in a meeting. Also, by making the summits of the participating countries “informal”, it takes a form that does not touch the question of whether Taiwan is approved as a state. The name “economy” was also given in consideration of participating from other countries.

As a result of these considerations, APEC has realized economic cooperation with diverse regions. Since most other regional organizations are state-oriented, it can be said that APEC has a system of economy.

Process of the establishment of APEC

Japan’s movement is also closely related to the process of establishing APEC.

The United States has long been the most important trading partner for Japan. However, in the late 1980s, when APEC was established, under the influence of the “Plaza Agreement” signed in 1985, we will expand production bases in Southeast Asia to secure cheaper labor.

Backed by these developments, the idea that a new economic cooperation framework should be established in the “Pacific Rim Region”, which encompasses the United States and Southeast Asia, which are important trading partners, has gradually emerged in Japan.

Since 1987, Japan and Australia have been promoting efforts to achieve economic cooperation in the Asia-Pacific region.

And in 1989, Prime Minister Bob Hawk of Australia advocated a ministerial meeting in the Asia-Pacific region. Favorable reactions were also generated from the United States and ASEAN, and Australia’s proposal was expressed at the ASEAN Extended Foreign Ministers Meeting held in the same year. As a result, the first APEC Ministerial Meeting was held in Canberra, Australia.